Some people say that sports play an important role in society. Others, however, think that it is nothing more than a leisure activity. Discuss both views and give your opinion

In contemporary society, it is widely debated whether sport plays a vital role in society. While others believe that it is nothing more than a leisure activity. I strongly believe that sport has a substantial impact on well-being and helps people enhance their abilities.

On the one hand, some proponents argue that sport is simply a recreational activity. From this perspective, they can take part in sport events or festivals, simply as a form of entertainment. It is the same as listening to music or watching a movie in their spare time. For example, they can be exhausted after a long day at work and want to find a way to enjoy and relax just to eliminate stress from daily life.

One the other hand, many people consider that sport plays a crucial part in society, because it offers countless benefits. The first and foremost reason is that it helps people to stay more active and maintain their health. Moreover, it reduces the risk of illness such as obesity, diabetes or heart disease. For example, almost all athletes do not suffer from these health issues, because they follow a strict diet and try to exercise regularly. Additionally, some sports encourage people to improve some essential skills such as discipline, teamwork or even perseverance, which can help them in real life or in the workplace.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that sport plays a significant role in society, since it helps them maintain their health and develop new skills that could be beneficial in the future.