Some people say that the best way to discourage smoking is to make smoking illegal in public places. Other people say that this is not enough and that other measures are needed. Discuss both these views, and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Smoking has become a popular debate in recent years, especially regarding the preventative measures. Many believe the most efficient way to stop smokers is by making it illegal in public places. Another opinion is that the solution is insufficient, and other actions should be applied. In my opinion, decriminalising is inefficient; stronger policies and harsher consequences need to be taken against them.

Individuals who believe in the hypothesis think that criminalizing smokers may be sufficient to shame them publicly and demotivate them from further indulging in the addiction. Denormalizing smoking in public areas like restaurants, malls, and parks is a clear sign that the habit is socially unacceptable, especially for younger generations. Restricting smoking could also reduce the involuntary exposure to secondhand smoke. Such behaviour causes many deaths, and banning cigarettes in public places, in their opinion, is the first step towards a healthier future.

Opponents of the theory argue that if an addict is denied smoking in public, they will keep on smoking at home. To combat this problem, stricter policies and rules should be applied. For instance, increasing taxes on tobacco is known to be one of the most effective ways to reduce addiction, especially among price-sensitive populations. Marketing of cigarettes should also be closely monitored, and the propaganda censored. Many movies and series portray smokers in a glamorized manner, making them role models for the younger generation who are easily affected by the image. Smoking should be blurred and shown as a rather negative cause for many health issues. Moreover, plain packaging and disclaimers on the packs, along with bans on tobacco advertising, should be placed to keep companies from prettifying this addiction.

From my perspective, prohibiting smoking in public places is inadequate for stopping addicts. The majority of my family are smokers, and no forbidding will stop smokers from repeating their actions in a private area. Even so, they are not able to repeat their endeavour often, as the tobacco tax has increased, making it more challenging. Though higher prices will not be a stop trigger for all, and the forbidnes should be stricter.

To summarize, many people are debating the method of fully outlawing smoking, deciding on whether banning tobacco in public and shaming them for the habit will be sufficient to stop them. Others have decided it is lacking, and better, harsher approaches should be used. I also believe that severe consequences and better control of the smoking propaganda are necessary, due to the number of people who simply will not take the law seriously and persist in their behavior.