Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are opposing views regarding the environmental problem of our time. While some may claim that the significant environmental concern is the loss of particular species of plants and animals, another view, with which I agree more, holds that there are serious important environmental problems.

On the one hand, it is understandable that some people admit that the main important problem for the environment is the lack of biodiversity. This phenomenon can affect an environment’s cycle. One of the reasons for this might be a change in the proportion of prey and predators. As an example, two years ago in Mashhad, there were too many butterflies, which was caused by a decrease in creatures that hunt butterflies. In another aspect of the environment, it can be the same.

However, there are much stronger environmental issues in contemporary times. I believe that climate change is one of the most important problems for the environment. As we all know, temperature is increasing due to the global warming and this leads to rising sea levels, which leads to some natural phenomena such as floods and storms. Additionally, using non-degradable substances result in burying them into landfills and damaging the environment, causing harm to the environment. These substances can also contaminate water sources and spread throughout nature, ultimately impact on lives of animals, plants, and humans.

In conclusion, it might seem sensible for some to consider a lack of biodiversity as an essential environmental problem, yet I agree with the opinion that there are more vital problems for the environment that must be considered in the future.