Some people say that watching tv programs and movies related to crime are popular. Why do you think it's popular and how does it affect society?

Many people contend that crime-oriented television programmes and films have witnessed a surge in popularity in recent years. This is largely because such productions often feature unpredictable storylines that keep viewers engaged, and this results in an increasing number of lawbreakers among youngsters.

Illegal actions in TV programmes and movies are becoming more trendy, and this is mainly caused by violent incidents which are unpredictable for media consumers because audiences tend to experience excitement when watching such scenes. Moreover, unexpected developments effectively engage audiences, drawing them into the narrative and allowing them to emotionally connect with the characters. A good example is Breaking Bad, which captivated millions of viewers due to its unforeseeable storyline and numerous dramatic twists. Therefore, not only are crime-oriented movies popular among small groups of people, but they are also widely watched by most of the world’s population.

Soaring demand for violent cinematic productions leads to an increasing number of young lawbreakers. The biggest percentage of these viewers are teenagers who have insufficient life experience. So, minors are prone to imitate the mannerisms which are created by movie authors because they are not mature enough to make decisions with deep thinking. If young individuals consider fictional characters’ actions enjoyable, they will have the possibility to execute those actions in real life. Hence, society may be at risk as an increasing amount of crime-related media could encourage impressionable young people to imitate criminal behaviour.

In conclusion, crime-related films and television programmes are popular mainly because of their unpredictable plots and dramatic twists. However, their growing popularity may encourage some young people to imitate criminal behaviour, potentially contributing to a rise in youth crime.