Some people suggest that a country should try to produce all the food for its population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that a country’s population should use domestic products rather than imported products. Although this issue is controversial, I totally agree with this point of view.

There are several reasons why a country should produce food for its own population. Firstly, it is a potential way for the agriculture industry to grow. When food demand increases, the number of crop suppliers needed increases. Therefore, the government will implement supporting policies for the development of agriculture. Moreover, many modern technologies will be applied to enhance productivity and the size of the crop. Otherwise, there will be more job opportunities available for local people in farming and food processing industries, leading to a reduction in unemployment rates.

Additionally, food imports should be reduced due to a number of reasons. Firstly, putting barriers on importing food can help to boost a country’s economy by eliminating the competition that local companies face with foreign products, allowing them to be more profitable and contribute to the national economy. Furthermore, food importation can have negative environmental impacts due to the large amounts of carbon emissions released from the transportation of products all around the world via planes, trucks, and ships. By reducing food imports, countries can play their part in helping to protect the environment, rather than contributing to environmental issues such as climate change.

In conclusion, I believe that each country should invest in the development of its agricultural industry to provide food for the population itself, and import as little as possible.