Some people thick that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true functions of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What , in your opinion, should be the main function of a university

In contemporary society, some people believe that graduates should be provided with the knowledge and skills demanded in the workplace while, others claim that the university should run for its reputation by giving access to knowledge without considering the matter of course for an employee. It is largely regarded that the universities should teach useful skills for the company’s needs and I completely agree with this perspective.

Primarily, skilled workers are always wanted to work in the fields such as, business, IT companies and schools, which have a positive not only on society but also on economy of government. For instance, many professions are taught at the universities despite the fact that they are unnecessary for students to study. Alternatively, if the specific knowledge and skills that are useful for students to pursue their carriers more accurately are taught, they will have more opportunities for a better productivity in the work places. As a result, this situation might lead to the developments of a country and reduce the unemployment rate.

On the other hand, others claim that the universities should prioritize their sakes and work for them. Thus, they might get numerous applications if they get their ranks to the top places in terms of ranking. However, I vehemently disagree with this approach and think that if the universities put their reputation in the main priority, they might decline as their graduates will leave them.

To sum up, an ongoing debate discuses whether the needed skills should be taught at the institutes or only reputation should be the main matter. From perspectives of some people, the first phenomenon is much more important and I agree with this situation.