Some people thick that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true functions of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What , in your opinion, should be the main function of a university

Education in universities plays a prominent role in students’ lives. Although some contend that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed at the job, another section of society maintains that the responsibility of universities is to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is crucial for employment. I would resolutely align with the first view.

On the one hand, a large portion of the population believes that universities should be responsible for providing students with the skills and knowledge that are needed in the workplace, as this will equip them with enough knowledge and information about the job, which will impact their performance positively. Moreover, graduates then learn a variety of skills that will broaden their understanding of their future jobs. Therefore, this will attract more opportunities in the future. For example, in the USA, a university conducted a survey which resulted in students who practiced a variety of skills having more career options than students who did not.

On the other hand, the other section of society maintains that the function of a university should be to provide knowledge only about the desired subject. If universities focus only on the opted course by students, they will not get distracted from their own subject. Additionally, students nowadays have a lot of pressure in their own personal lives, and adding additional academic courses about job career training is not what is in their mental situation. For example, a psychiatrist in the UK reported six months ago that 65% of students in universities suffer from academic pressure, which can cause depression later in the future.

The main function of a university should be teaching the desired subject of students, with additional skills provided for future jobs, but in a limited way that will prepare students from the core and enhance their knowledge.

In conclusion, providing skills that are needed in the workplace enhances knowledge and brings opportunities. It can distract and pressurize students, but only for a limited period of time.