You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In some parts of the world, people buy far too many clothes. What are the reasons for this? How can people be persuaded to reduce the number of clothes they buy? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In some parts of the world, people buy far too many clothes. So here are some possible reasons for this, and how can buyers be persuaded from spend so much on fashion.

Meanwhile, the growing trend of people spending excessively on fabrics in some parts of the world is not new. Firstly, I feel one of the causes of this is social media. A lot of persons, especially the youths are influenced by what they see on the Internet. They get inspired by their favourite celebrities, and most of them are eager to copy what they do including their dressing. So this inflates the amount spent on fabrics. Secondly, every individual has a different mindset, some believe they need to dress impressively to attract the kind of friends, and connections they desire. By so doing, it impact how they spend money on clothing.

However, I feel there is a need to control this trend before it get out of hand especially in my countries like mine, Nigeria. I realised that, even those with little, or no stable income are practicing this lifestyle. At the end, few struggles to meet up with their immediate needs. For example, my neighbour’s son used his pocket money to acquire a baggy jean instead of food. I think the government needs to find ways to persuade people from such behaviour. The appropriate authorities should set up an investment program for teenagers. Additionally, parents should pay close attention to their children spending, and endeavour to know their source of income, this will help keep them in check.

I hope my reasons and the recommendations help reduce the amount of money spent on clothes in some parts of the world.