Some people think all lawbreakers should be sent to prison, while others think there are better alternatives for those whose crimes are minor, such as making them do work for the local community. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In the era of advanced technology, workers in different industries can have more opportunities to seek employment around the world. The primary drawback of working abroad is a lack of quality time with family members. Nevertheless, the upsides of this career development can be the higher income and immersing themselves in a vibrant local culture. In the following essay, I will expand upon my ideas and provide supporting details.

While living and working in a different country, the most obvious downside is homesickness, which makes individuals miss spending time with their families. Although technologies like airplanes allow for convenient and swift travel back to their hometowns, having work commitments means they often cannot take leave. Therefore, due to the lack of face-to-face socialization, this has been a major drawback that leads to individuals being alienated from their families. For instance, a recent survey shows that being apart from their parents or children is the main issue for those overseas job offer holders to turn the job down.

On the other hand, the upsides of working abroad are both significantly diverse and meaningful: one is to receive a competitive salary, and another is to have chances to learn more about the local cultures. Without a doubt, multinational enterprises usually have stronger financial resources willing to offer higher salaries for those capable, hard-working potential employees. Moreover, living and working in a foreign environment can broaden individuals’ horizons, enriching their life experiences in various societies. For example, living in a new environment and trying abundant local cuisines would enhance workers’ international viewpoint.

In conclusion, the drawback of working abroad would result in losing precious time with their families and drifting apart from relationships. However, I believe the upsides of earning more money and experiencing diverse cultures would overbalance the downside aspect.