some people think having a university degree is the best way to secure a good job.However others believe skills and experience are more important. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

One of the most debated topics for fresh graduates and job seekers is whether it is necessary to have a university degree to gain a job or whether having skills and experience in specific fields are valued more in securing a successful occupation. This essay will first elaborate both side of perspectives, before explaining that I am more inclined toward the latter proposition.

In-demand job opportunities often require both educational background and past experience. With a university degree, your chance to land a job in your respective study area is highly likely than those who don’t possess a degree. Moreover, you will easily earn a job that aligns with your passion and interest. On the other hand, having past experience without a degree can be beneficial too, where you don’t have to go through the process of having to attend 4-year long university and spend so much money in a specific area of study where you might not end up enjoying.

Although a person who only has a degree has its own merits, an individual with a university degree coupled with experience and soft skills, e.g., stints, internships, and student organizations, has even higher opportunity to acquire a job than the former candidate. By having experience in the work field, you are gaining more knowledge and capabilities that the school don’t teach you. Understanding theory is very important, but you are at least one step ahead when you can successfully apply your knowledge to solve problems in the day-to-day basis. Furthermore, hiring manager from companies often favor those who have relevant experience and skills in a specific field of expertise because they want people who can adapt to the work environment quickly.

To conclude, both perspectives have their own perks and are able to give some valid reasoning in giving an individual the best opportunity to land a dream job. However, in my opinion, a degree can definitely get you somewhere, whereas your experience can get you even further.