Some people think international events such as the Olympic Games are important and can bring nations together. Others, however, think that they are a waste of money as the money could be spent elsewhere on more important issues. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, spending money on grand events like the Olympic games is quite a fascinating topic for discussion. While some people think that investing money in this kind of event is a waste of money, others argue that sport events such as Olympic games unite people from around the world and provide individuals tge opportunity to showcase their talents and get self-confidence. I understand both perspectives as these events can be beneficial for countries, but it can lead to some unpleasant financial consequences.

Firstly, hosting a significant sporting event like the Olympic games can help countries being aware of each other’s traditions. For instance, Sochi Olympic games which was held in Russia in 2014 was a great success for country helping it gain recognition by other countries, letting other countries be absorbed in Russia’s rich history and traditions. Furthermore, as Olympic games is an sport event it helps people to get motivated in doing more exercises, going to the gyms and dealing with overweight problem.

On the other hand, despite it being beneficial for country, for it’s transport, hospitals, it can result in protests in nation. The main reason for these protests is that country can get into debt in order to hold such an enormous event. Moreover, during Olympic games many tourists visit county and it can lead to social disruptions, especially for locals. For instance, some tourists might disrespect country’s national inheritance such as historical monuments.

In conclusion, even though hosting Olympics can be quite beneficial for country, Olympic community should prioritize country’s economical condition.