Some people think international events such as the Olympic Games are important and can bring nations together. Others, however, think that they are a waste of money as the money could be spent elsewhere on more important issues. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is no doubt that global events like the Olympic Games are significant, in bringing countries together. While some believe this, others argue that they are a waste of financial and other resources, and can focus on other critical problems of the world. I staunchly agree with the former argument.

On one side, people can view international gaming events, as a waste mainly because there are more pressing issues in the world like climate change and war. For example, due to the hightened carbon footprint in recent years, climate has drastically changed and the Earth is warming up at faster pace. So, it is sensible for countries to join hands and work to alleviate this problem so that future generation have a planet that is livable. In addition to this, wars in certain parts of the world is ignored while these events get great amount of attention.

On the other side, sporting events like this promote global friendship and create great opportunities for people talented in those games and sports. For instance, pupil talented in sports can pursue sports as their career, which is beneficial both to them and their country as they raise their country’s profile and also earn money from these events. Not only that, but I firmly believe, meeting in a common country for the event promotes good relationship among the participants. Eventually, this may bridge any gaps between nations and promote treaties for well being of its citizens.

In conclusion, although there are few who think spending a huge amount of money on these events is pointlesss due to the problems like global warming and war. I strongly believe that these competitions are a pathway for strong positive relations among countries and provide financial grwoth, and career opportunities for talented people.