Some people think news has no connection to people's lives. Therefore, it is a waste of time to read the newspaper and watch television news programs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In an increasingly globalized world, there is an ongoing debate about news effectiveness. Some people argue that the news is not about people’s lives, so it is a waste of time to read the news in newspapers and watch television news programs. I firmly disagree with this opinion. I believe that the news strongly maintains its effectiveness, and I will explain both opinions in this essay.

On the one hand, some claim that the news wastes time because it consists of demoralizing issues, such as war, disasters, and crime. It focuses on events in distant countries that do not affect ordinary people. In addition, individuals believe that the news demonstrates the same events frequently. However, this idea is completely flawed since the news has a huge impact on people around the world.

On the other hand, citizens can learn about what happened in the world thanks to the news. They can learn from the news and avoid making the same mistakes in their own lives. For example, an earthquake happened on 6 February 2023, and a lot of people died. Most people learn this from the news, and they take measures, such as checking their apartments. Moreover, reading the news makes people more aware and careful. They can avoid some possible risks.

To sum up, although some people consider that the news wastes their time because it repeats the same events and demoralizes people, I strongly believe that it has a huge impact since it makes people aware and helps them to take measures.