Some people think nurses should be paid more because their job is stressful. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that healthcare providers deserve higher salaries due to the stressful environment in their workplace. I completely agree with this opinion because of their critical responsibilities and skills required. Although some individuals may believe this money can be invested in the enhancement of medical facilities, from my perspective, better wages are essential to retain skilled nurses and maintain high standards of healthcare.

Admittedly, the contributions of essential healthcare professionals are integral to the functioning of society. This is because specialised knowledge and expertise are imperative to the public. For instance, nurses save and maintain people’s lives through their medical proficiency. Furthermore, they are exposed to psychological burden and stress daily because their decisions may cause fatal complications within minutes. Higher remuneration should be provided to alleviate their mental stress. Consequently, medical practitioners can be more productive and effective.

However, some people contend that the budget should be utilised for the amelioration of medical equipments and facilities. This is because better technological progress in medical industry results in enhanced medication for the patients. For example, Da Vinci surgical system provides more immersive 3D magnification, therefore higher accuracy in treating people. This equipment costs a lot so salaries for the nursing staff can be saved for this. As a result, more precise medication is available for the patients.

To recapitulate, while investment in more improved medical facilities is important, due to nurses’ critical abilities and responsibilities followed by emotional stress, I strongly believe that they should receive higher salaries to reflect the true value of their work.