Some people think that all students should study a foreign language in school, while others believe it is not necessary. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some individuals opine that it is not necessary for students to learn a foreign language in school, while others disagree and believe that it is optional. This essay would delve into discussing the two perspectives as well as stating my support for the former one

It is reasonable for students not to be required to learn foreign language in school. This is because it could allow them to be more flexible in choosing the language they are genuinely interested in, rather than being forced to study one language they do not enjoy. Therefore, they may become motivated to learn additional languages, building a stronger foundation for using foreign languages in the future. Concerning the second viewpoint is that studying a second language in school could only focus too much on academy performance and grades. This pressure can lead to dissatisfaction and boredom, making the learning process less effective. For instance, in some English classes, teachers mainly emphasize the grammar and test preparation, which make student feel passive and uninspired

Nevertheless, I strongly believe that it is essential for students to learn additional languages in school, particularly for those from disadvantaged backgrounds. Some students cannot afford exorbitant language courses at private centers, so school – based become their best option. Another point is that some developing countries today are striving to improve the quality of their education systems. They recognize foreign languages proficiency is a key factor in long-term national development and global integration. By way of illustration, schools in the U.S support this goal by organizing foreign language clubs to students with a passion for these, arranging student exchange programs with other foreign schools offering both long-term or short-term overseas scholarships to high performing students.

Inc conclusion, although it is partly true that in some case, I suppose the view that learning additional language in educational institution still plays a crucial role in providing equal educational opportunities and preparing students for a globalized world