Some people think that children who spend a lot of time reading children’s story books are wasting their time which could be better used doing other more useful activities. To what extent do you agree?

It is ubiquitously said that juveniles who utilize a lot of time reading children’s story books are wasting their time which could be appropriately used on other beneficial activities. I partially accord with this statement as it helps in boosting imagination power yet, the indispensable role of other pursuits cannot be overlooked.

Undoubtedly, it is true that reading helps in boosting the power of imagination. To be more precise, reading leads to imagining significant factors. Children who are avid readers have more cognitive skills as compared to non-readers candidates. This will lead to emergence of intellectual skills. For instance, a survey conducted in New Zealand indicates that among all the population, 79% students who read books have more imagination skills. Hence, it is meaningful to say that reading books are beneficial for student’s development.

On the paradoxical side, performing other pursuits are also imperative such as sports. Performing sports in recreational time helps to build physique and better lifestyle. Utilizing time on sports helps to maintain the standard of life. For example, if youngsters use their time in performing sport activities then they not only stay healthy yet helps in decreasing the rate of detrimental aliments. This may result in the healthy society. Thus, it is worthful to say that engaging in sports is fruitful for maintaining physique and various skills.

To recapitulate, although reading is advantageous to ameliorate that cognitive development yet, the significance of other pursuits is equally crucial for the well-being of the children. Thereby, youngsters should take part in all the activities.