Some people think that children who spend a lot of time reading children’s story books are wasting their time which could be better used doing other more useful activities. To what extent do you agree?

In the contemporary world, reading children’s story books, especially with students, is getting more and more debatable. It is considered by many that apparently it is time-consuming, students should have been not overindulging into it. This essay will concur both views of this problem.

On the one hand, an inordinate amount of time put into enjoying storybooks may do more harm than good. Initially, reading may affect several demerits for well-being. From the time being, the tendency of ever-evolving obesity and poor posture is increasing by leaps and bounds. The more time they use in reading books, the less time they adapt to do exercise and extracurricular activities such as doing volunteer or charity work. As a result, it triggers a number of consequences related to social relationships, communication and even loss of academic performance. Furthermore, engaging in stories is not much as useful as anticipated. Students can impact on several unethical terms, and imagine living in a virtual world with all of the pink and successful results. Leading to the increased rate of meeting errors, being jealous of others and self-esteem at themselves.

On the other hand, the principal merit of reading children’s story books is to facilitate mental health of people particularly with teenagers. As a common knowledge, we all have our pastimes though it is enormous or tiny, children spend their time on reading comic books, enjoying humorous or romantic captions which we should think are favorable and consider this action as a way for them to alleviate their stress and live by themselves. Hence, people should have an overall sight to address and confide with their offsprings effectively rather than criticisms and misconceiving. Moreover, reading contributes to acquiring knowledge, even more crucial than other experiences. Reading is believed to broaden our psychological mind and foster diverse imagination. It is undoubtful that we can learn when reading a prominent story of an eminent or a distinctive poem or historian. By visualizing how the plot unfolds based on illustrations , captions and words, they definitely develop their imagination.

In conclusion, the above discussion favors a conclusion that reading story books both has upsides and downsides. It is not only to stimulate creativity, but also lessen pressure; Nevertheless, students should balance their time allocated for reading with other academic and extracurricular activities to live their youth to the fullest.