Some believe children should start school as early as possible, while others think they should begin later.

The question of when a child should begin their formal education is widely debated. While some argue that an early start gives a child an academic advantage, others think that pursuing a formal education later allows for healthier development.

Speaking in favour of starting formal education early, young children absorb knowledge rapidly, and structured learning in these years provides an exceptional foundation for them to grow in the later stages of their lives. Studies have shown that children who attend preschool and kindergarten early demonstrate better literacy and social skills. Moreover, exposing young children to the concept of schooling early in life also enhances their speaking, listening, and reading. Exposing them to social environments incorporates cooperation, discipline, and communication, which are beneficial skills that are vital throughout their lives.

On the other hand, advocates of a delayed start argue that children need time for unstructured play and also need family bonding at an early age in their lives. Studies suggest that children who begin their schooling at the age of six or seven achieve exceptional heights in academics while simultaneously being very mature emotional beings. Placing extreme pressure on them at an early age can develop anxiety.

In my opinion, children should start their education at the age of 4, when they have a developed emotional brain to absorb the things happening around them. This is the perfect age for them also because they will complete their education at around 18, which gives them an ample amount of time to explore careers without being under the constant pressure of feeling that they can’t pursue certain careers because of their growing age.

In conclusion, starting school at an older age supports children’s well-being, and early schooling provides cognitive benefits.