Some believe children should start school as early as possible, while others think they should begin later.

The optimal age for a child to commence formal education has been an issue of concern for a long time. There are those who think that children should start school at an early age while others advocate for late entry into school. Both points of view are justified but I am of the opinion that an appropriate balance between the two is desirable.

First, early introduction to school will enable a child to develop academic and social skills at an early age. Reading, writing, and arithmetic skills may enhance learning capacity hence equipping a child for future studies. Additionally, children gain socialization skills by interacting with their peers in schools. Finally, school helps working parents get peace of mind.

Second, there are those who advocate for late entry to school as childhood is very important for emotional and physical development of a child. Young children need to have enough playtime during the formative stage of development and learn through observation of activities around them in their families.

From personal perspective, children should be introduced to schools at an age when they are physically, intellectually, and socially ready. This implies that the right balance is necessary for children.