Some people think that competition at work, at school and in daily life is a good thing. Others believe that we should try to cooperate more, rather than competing against each other. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Some individuals are of the opinion that being competitive in daily life can bring benefits for people while others think that collaboration is the superior choice compared to competition. The following essay is going to delve into both viewpoints before endeavoring to give my opinion.

Granted, some people may argue that competition plays a pivotal role due to it can do wonders for the personal development of each individual. This assumption is based on the fact that a competitive environment can help people to make more progress and determine to attain their goals. For example, when children engage in the class where students studying here are likely to strive to maintain their position or stay ahead, their skills and knowledge can be enhanced significantly since they always try harder to catch up with other peers. Therefore, this may contribute to the personal growth of each child, making them more rounded. Another example worth considering is that in the labor market, competition holds a vital role since it promotes companies to make more innovations and improve their products, which can help them outperform their potential competitors and become more triumphant in the workforce.

However, if people focus exclusively on competing against each other, it can hinder their opportunities to go further in their educational and working paths. First and foremost, cooperation may foster an environment where people work together to get the overall agreement, leading to a more comprehensive and more effective solution to their intended projects or matters in comparison with individual work. It can be exemplified by scientific medical researches which necessitate the collaboration of each individual dedicating time and efforts to ensure the safety of experiments and medicines before being published, rather than individual works. In addition to the question regarding the importance of teamwork, it is proven that through working together, people can learn numerous essential social skills like listening, discussing as well as persuading others to follow their own thinking, thereby having a holistic development ranging from personal growth and external relationships with others, that hardly can competition make for people’s growth.

In conclusion, proponents of both statements have convincing evidence to defend their viewpoints. While being competitive can incentivise people to make more progress, cooperating can help them maintain these triumphs as well as learn more salient skills. From my perspective, competition and collaboration all contribute to the personal growth of each individual and people need to balance the interconnection of these aspects to attain more achievement in the enduring time