Some people think that competition at work, at school and in daily life is a good thing. Others believe that we should try to cooperate more, rather than competing against each other. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

There is an ongoing debate about competition and cooperation, which are two fundamental aspects of human interaction. While some argue that competition gives excellence and innovation, others believe cooperation is a key to achieving collective success. In my opinion, while competition can drive individual achievements, cooperation is more beneficial for growth.

On the one hand, proponents of competition argue that it brings powerful motivation to individuals, push their limits to achieve higher standards. In the academic setting, competition can encourage students to excel. Scholarships and awards will be goals for all students, therefore they will study harder and give better outcomes. Similarly, in the workplace, competition leads to increased productivity and motivate workers, because they will need to outperform others in order to get bonuses and promotions. For example, many lar companies like Apple, Microsoft and Google are constantly innovating to outdo each other, so that they have made a huge number of achievements, benefitting technology and the whole society.

On the other hand, environments which create the opportunities for people to work together is more supportive. At school collaborative activities such as group projects or peer tutoring can improve pupil’s social skills such as teamwork, empathy and communication, which are crucial for both academic success and personal development. Students will have the chance to discuss, as cooperative projects will give them opportunities for free speech. In the working condition, cooperation can lead to a more harmonious environment than competition, as teams that collaborate effectively will combine their strengths. For instance, the success of many video games worldwide is proof of the power of cooperation, teams of developers work together, trying their best to contribute to the creation of video games.

In conclusion, while competition can drive individual achievement and innovation, I believe that working together is more conductive to long-term success and well-being. Encouraging cooperative behaviors, therefore, can lead to more harmonious and productive environments in schools, workplaces and communities.