Some people think that competition at work, at school and in daily life is a good thing. Others believe that we should try to cooperate more, rather than competing against each other. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Competing and cooperating are two fundamental aspects in human’s interaction and daily relationships. People’s opinions differ as to whether competition or cooperation is more beneficial in generating better outcomes in the workplace, on campus or in daily life. Although both views are justifiable to some extent, I opine that collaboration is more crucial in promoting the productivity of work.

On the one hand, it is certainly true that rivalry may push individuals to work harder on their goals or ambitions. In workplaces, contention is essential since it can stimulate staff to outperform their colleagues in order to earn recognition and get promotion. In academic settings, students need to constantly study and improve their grades so that they would not be put behind their peers. In daily lives, competitions may force people to push themselves forward inexorably to develop and hone their skills as they wouldn’t want to become obsolete in comparison to others or Artificial Intelligence (AI).

Despite the aforementioned arguments, I would contend that individuals can obtain more merits through the process of collaboration because it can broaden their horizons and lay the foundation for better mental health. At work, employees may achieve better results by participating in discussions with others. Specifically, each person is a special individual with different viewpoints and experiences. By discussing, they may be exposed to these various opinions and have a deeper outlook over the problems, hence, the productivity of work can be improved significantly. Moreover, schools that encourage teamwork may assist them a lot in fostering crucial social skills and empathy in them. Take Finland whose education system is top-rated as an illustration, Finnish schools strongly emphasize on cooperation. Children are often given tasks that require collaborative problem solving and sharing ideas with other students. With this approach, the learning process is stimulated and cooperation skills between students can be enhanced. In daily lives, collaboration can promote community spirit and create a sense of belonging among individuals. This may substantially improve emotional health and help people build long-lasting relationships.

In conclusion, while emulations may be of benefit regarding motivating individuals and fostering innovation, cooperating can improve productivity and offer better mental well-being among people. By embracing a balanced approach that values both competitiveness and collaboration, individuals can achieve personal and societal progress holistically and sustainably.