Some people think that competition at work, at school and in daily life is a good thing. Others believe that we should try to cooperate more, rather than competing against each other. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

There are two opposing schools of thought when it comes to the role of competition in our daily lives. While some are of the opinion that competition can bring about many positive outcomes, others con- tend that people are better off collaborating instead of competing with each other. This essay will assess the validity of both sides of this argument before providing my personal opinion.

An oft-cited argument in favor of competition is that a healthy amount of it can serve as an effective and powerful catalyst for personal development, motivating people to overcome obstacles while try- ing to better themselves. In fact, tales of friendly rivals who push each other’s limits are fairly common in both fiction and real life. For example, Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi are both contenders for the title “the greatest of all time” with their countless trophies and personal accolades in the world of football. In many interviews, they often credit the other as inspiration for their dedication to the sport. In the world of business, competition is also instrumental in innovation and largely benefits consumers, as companies try to provide superior products at a more competitive price point than others.

However, there are instances where competing does more harm than good and people should work together towards a common goal. When dealing with complex and multidisciplinary problems whose solutions require the concerted effort between many different parties, excessive focus on being bet- ter than others instead of the shared goal can actually hinder progress. For example, solving climate change and global warming would take much longer if scientists, engineers and politicians refused to work together and constantly worried about which group could take credit for it. In these scenarios, people should put their egos to the side and focus on solving problems as a team for the greater good.

What’s more, there are people who can become obsessed with winning in cutthroat competitions and resort to unethical measures to get ahead and sabotage others. This can cause harm to others and destroy relationships. For these overly competitive individuals, they should be taught the importance of cooperation from an early age so that they can become well-adjusted members of society.

In conclusion, I believe that whether people should compete or cooperate is a nuanced question and the answer largely depends on the situation. While a healthy dose of competition can drive people to become better in personal and professional lives, they should prioritize collaboration when confront- ed with complex issues that require teamwork.