Some people think that countries should limit the amount of food that they import and mainly eat products from their own country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is important to consider that in order to keep our body healthy, we need to consume good food.Some individuals would argue that these countries must limit these imports and focus on their own production as the main source of nutrition.I fully agreed with this statement.

From an economic and healthy perspective, importing food is quite an expensive activity. The reason is it requires space like cold storage to prevent spoilage, extreme use of preservations to extend self life, and transportation such as plane, boat or train to send food products which makes food’s price higher.If the government provides local products fully, the cause of financial difficulties will decrease.Moreover importing foods can have some health issues.For example, bananas self life is two or three days maximum, so to increase bananas life span they uses preservatives which contains some harmful chemicals, they have some negative effect on health.

From a local perspectives, it may increase the number of jobs. When the demand for domestic food increases, there will be more jobs available in food production and farming, leading to a reduction in the unemployment rate.In addition, consuming local food ensures freshness and more nutritious options along with minimized food wastage.Also it is less expensive and healthy compared to imported food.

In conclusion, the overall benefits outweigh its drawbacks because of the food security and the economic effect. But also some food items may need to import due to environmental factors because of improper climate many products can’t grown locally.