Some people think that English will be the only language to be spoken globally. what are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

In today’s world, every nation have their own language, which may even vary with the different state. The growth of tourism contributed to English becoming the most important language all over the world, due to which some people think this will ultimately lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. In this essay, I will explore both pros and cons to having one language in the world.

I will start by looking at the advantages of this trend. One of the major plus point is that the problem of language barrier between tourists and citizens of the country will be solved. To illustrate this point, tourist can travel to each country of the world with no difficulty in communication with locals of specific country to which they travel. Secondly, there may not be any conflicts or wars among the countries. Conflicts and wars are often caused by the feeling of superiority to the nation, but if there is only one language all over the world, there is less possibility of such activities taking place.

On the other hand, there are also numerous disadvantages of this trend. First major drawback is that people may forgive their religion or culture in the future. For instance, if only English is spoken globally, people will forget their native languages which are being spoken by their ancestors and similarly slowly they may even forgive the importance of the religion and culture. Another downside is that there won’t be any secret or private conversation among the people in the public. For example, cops cannot communicate in their code language in public, which ultimately leads to the benefit of thieves.

To conclude, there are both positive and negative aspects to English being only spoken all over the world. In spite of the fact that tourist will face less difficulty in foreign land and the possibility of not having any war among the countries, younger generation may forget their religion and also there won’t be any secret conversation. Personally, I think this will ultimately cause more drawback than success.