Some people think that English will be the only language to be spoken globally. what are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

It is thought by some people that English would be the only language which is used worldwide for communication as it’s considered to be the most important language all over the world. Having one language will be easier to understand and will certainly make good relations with people of different linguistics. However, having to speak just one language can have several drawbacks as well.

Exposure to just one language will help people in communicating with each other and will eventually, build more understanding. People love travelling and one obstacle they might find while travelling to other country is language. However, having one language will make it easier for tourists as they can communicate to the people living locally and would not be a target for fraudsters.

On the other hand, speaking just one language can affect the cultural diversity of people. There are hundreds of languages formed with one core language and people have preserved manuscripts from thousands of years ago just to make their future generations learn about their mother tongue. Secondly, it can also limit the ideas of people as they won’t push themselves to create unique art in the form of paintings, music, poetry etc.

In conclusion, there are several benefits of having one global language. However, having exposures to different languages is what makes individuals stand out from others. Local languages and mother tongues should be prioritized to maintain the diversity of cultures and to make future generations learn about their cultural languages.