Some people think that getting a degree from university is the best way to secure a good job. Others believe that employers value work experience more than a university degree. Discuss both these views and give your opinion

The debate over the way of seizing a secured job has become a controversial topic among employees and businessmen. Whilst some individuals assume that holding a bachelor’s or postgraduate degree is the most effective method to obtain an advanced vacancy, others refute this, asserting that work experience instead is highly appreciated by work owners. In my view, practical involvement should be given higher consideration.

On the one hand, proponents of the former viewpoint claim that obtaining a higher educational degree is crucial to getting a secured job because they have the critical thinking abilities and innovative sills. In other words, when it comes to recruitment, fresh graduates are more effectively eligible for work due to their enormous knowledge compared to those who have only work experience. In the UAE, for instance, it is often required a bachelor’s degree is the most significant qualification, while only two years of experience in the career field is needed. This example illustrates that obtaining an academic degree plays a pivotal role in the labor market.

On the other hand, most employees with sufficient experience are highly appreciated since they gain their skills by problem solving and life experience. Many recruiters believe that certain jobs demand practical proficiency instead of theoretical certificates and that could be implemented only on those experts who are dedicated to work for years. A prominent example is evident in craft professions such as carpenters and tailors which need decades of tough training and practices to become professional experts. Therefore, work experience not only is a significant qualification to acquire specific jobs, but it also can be a strong competitor that replaces a university degree.

In conclusion, having manifested the aforementioned views, it can be concluded that the method of getting a secured job has become a longstanding and multifaced issue. Although some claim that obtaining an academic degree is a must to be recruited for a secured job, others believe that the more years you have in work, the more proficiency you will gain, and this is true from my perspective. Nevertheless, balancing between education and experience is one of the key principles that fosters resilience and paves the way for a better future.