Some people think that governments should ban dangerous sports, while others think people should have freedom to do any sports or activity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

In today’s world there are large variety of sports, however, many of them are considered dangerous and life-threatening. This generates a debate on whether the government should intervene in banning these kinds of activities or not. In this essay, I will explore both perspectives and lean towards the view of freedom of choice.

Advocates for forbiding these sports argue that they are highly dangerous and might end up in the death of the people that practice them. Furthermore, one of the major problems is that these activities are done illegally by individuals who lack experience, sometimes following social trends, which leads to detrimental consequences. For example, the news have frequently covered accidents of people jumping from bridges and tall buildings. Thereby, strict regulations should be put in place by the government to protect the life of the citizens.

On the other hand, critics of this view defend that individuals have the right to choose if they want to undergo the risks. Furthermore, they assert that these sports are controlled by professionals and numerous rules and steps are followed to avoid accidents or injuries. Most of these activities are regulated by professional bodies and the instructors are highly especialized, which reduce all risks if legal laws are followed. Furthermore, proponents argue that these activities foster behaviour’s development, since it expand the comfort zone of individuals and encourage them to take more challenging decisions in life.

To conclude, there are risks and benefits of practicing high-risk sports, however, I believe that the latter outweigh the drawbacks as long as certain security rules are followed.