Some people think that governments should ban dangerous sports, while others think people should have freedom to do any sports or activity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

One school of thought holds that it is necessary for the government to introduce a ban on extreme sports, while others are of the opinion that people should be given the leeway to engage in any sporting activities they desire. This essay will first closely examine both viewpoints before concluding that I agree more with the latter.

Admittedly, proponents of banning extreme sports might argue based on their dangerous nature. Bungee-jumping, for example, requires players to leap from a perilous height, which could pose a threat to participants, leading to fatal injuries and, in some cases, tragic death if any accidents occur. Therefore, by imposing a law banning these sports, governments could possibly reduce the rising fatality rates caused by engaging in such life-threatening sporting activities. Such a policy could contribute greatly to a healthier population.

However, the feasibility of successfully implementing such a law is still open to question. This is because monitoring and supervising individual hobbies and daily activities remains a monumental task, requiring large human resources and colossal financial investment. Therefore, making people obligated to the law is a hardly attainable goal for many nations, especially impoverished ones, such as Vietnam or South Sudan, where resources are already stretched thin.

Thus, I am convinced that governments should give their citizenry the freedom to partake in any sporting games they want as long as such activities are not illegal. If the government imposed a ban on extreme sports, it would breed resentment among residents, gradually escalating into social discontentment. Granted, critics of extreme sports often emphasize the potential threat posed to participants’ lives. However, this line of reasoning is not sound as it fails to factor in the fact that players are usually required to learn safety protocols, adhere to guidelines, and undergo rigorous training before being qualified and allowed to engage in such extreme activities.

In conclusion, while banning dangerous sports might help to reduce mortality rates, the overall picture suggests differently. The glaring drawbacks, including the huge cost incurred, compromised civil rights, and social unrest, tip the balance against this policy.