Art classes, such as painting or drawing, are as important for children's development as other subjects, so it should be compulsory in high school. Do you agree or disagree?

All subjects play a crucial role to improve students’ knowledge. However, it is often considered that art-related subjects, such as music or architecture, are equally important to advance children’s abilities as other disciplines; therefore they should be mandatory in all schools. I completely agree with this idea and think that art lessons play a key role in pupils’ development, as do other disciplines.

To begin with, art classes improve children’s cognitive skills and that is a valid reason to teach art in high school. In particular, during drawing or singing, students can strengthen their intellect and concentration. For example, my sister had in her extra curriculum poetry classes. Last winter she had a task at school to learn a very long poem, which included more than 100 words and she needed only one day to do it. Hence she improved her memory by means of her litreture deciplines.

An additional reason for my stance is that creative subjects reduce stress and make school more enjoyable. Granted, some people wonder whether students should have leisure. However, school schedules should be built in such a way that it includes humanitarian and technical classes. For instance, a guy, who likes technical lessons, but doesn’t like art, should have in his curriculum even one art-related subject, it also can be something less creative, such as architecture.

To conclude, I strongly believe that art disciplines are equally important for children’s growth as other subjects, because they strengthen our intellect and make the educational process easier.