Some people think that intelligence is innate while others believe that we can improve our intelligence through learning. How far do you agree with that statement? Give your opinion answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The debate over whether intelligence is innate or can be improved through learning is long-standing, with compelling arguments on both sides, one side suggests that intelligence is predetermined at birth and cannot be modified, while others claim that intelligence is a changing trait, where it can increase or decrease over time. In this essay, we’ll be discussing both sides of the argument and find out which is more likely to be true.

Those who claim that intelligence is innate argue that data shows that most twins, even those raised apart seem to have a similar IQ score with each other. This raised the hypothesis suggesting that intelligence seems only to be a factor of genetics. Moreover, there have been many cases regarding prodigies. It is seen that there have been many prodigies who are excelling in their studies at such a young age, even the ones who lack the basic necessity of education.

On the other hand, others believe that intelligence isn’t an innate ability, but can be improved through learning and dedication. They stated that there have been many individuals who seemed to have a low intellectual capacity in their younger days, but gradually improved over time. One example of this would be the figure “Albert Einstein”, there was a time in his life when he couldn’t even count to five, but now he is considered to be one of the fathers of math and physics, creating theories such as the theory of relativity. Therefore, it is believed that there are ways to improve one’s intelligence by learning and hard work.

In my opinion, I believe that though genetics plays a role in intelligence, learning, and hard work play a much greater role in intelligence. After all, weren’t there many students who, in their younger days, were failing their tests, but still grew up to be someone brilliant? I am one of those students myself, who used to fail subjects regarding math and science. However, despite my younger days not being so bright. I was able to apply myself and improve my intelligence through learning based on my mistakes.

In conclusion, while some argue that intelligence is only a genetic factor and therefore cannot be improved, some state that it could be developed through education and dedication. However, in my opinion, while genetic factors undoubtedly play a role in intelligence, study shows that might not always be the case, and how you live definitely affects your intelligence on a much wider scale, so I’d say that it’s much more probable that intelligence is not just an innate ability.