Some people think that modern communication technology has a negative impact on our social relationships. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?

It is often argued that over-usage of electronic devices such as, smartphones and computers effect individual’s social life abilities negatively. While some people believe this trend is beneficial, others claim it has more drawbacks. Personally, I agree with this idea because excessive use of devices can lead to addiction and reduced face-to-face interaction. I will underline my ideas in the following paragraphs.

One of the main reasons why I agree is when people spend more time in front of screen it can lead behavioral addiction. This is because many applications and social platforms like Tik-Tok and Instagram, are designed to keep users engaged for long periods of time. For instance, instead of meeting friends, talking with family members or participating in social activities, individuals may prefer staying alone with their devices. Therefore, it is evident that this reduces real-life intercation and can weaken communication skills and emotional bond with others.

Another key argument in favor of this view is not only does it lead to addiction but it also results spending less time in person directly. This means that direct communication is very important for developing understanding level of body language such as, practising eye contact, reading facial expression and even noticing tone of voice. For example, people who prefer playing games, over time it increases anxiety and depression when they need to communicate with others. Hence, it is clear that without regular in person conversations, these crucial life changing skills may become weaker over time.

In conclusion, I firmly agree with the idea that phones and electronic tools harm society in the long term. This is because it lead less communication in real life situations and trigger their mind constantly. Given these points, it is advisable that people be able to monitor the time they are spending for phone.