Some people think that older school children should learn a wide range of subjects and develop knowledge. But other people think that they should only learn a small number of subjects in detail. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, whether high school students should study various subjects or a small number of subjects in detail is a controversial topic. While some people argue that older school children ought to learn a wide range of subjects, I side with others who consider studying only a small number of subjects in depth to be a positive development.

There is a reason why some people may think studying various subjects is positive. The reason is related to the fact that high school students exchange ideas from what they have learnt from various subjects, leading to broadening their horizons. If they continue learning various subjects, they may be promoted to national school-based intellectual tournaments. In those tournaments, because the questions given to teams cover many school subjects, knowledge high school children acquired from these subjects might provide an advantage, resulting in them outperforming others, later ending up with securing high places, and increasing their own intelligence.

Admittedly, studying specific subjects in detail has its own positive side, which older school students will be more oriented to their future jobs. As today’s job market is tough, this is highly likely to help older school students to be hired easily because they have started learning subjects related to their future jobs earlier and deeper. In the long term, those employees can contribute to developing their own field, which in return boosts the country’s economy.

In conclusion, while some people think studying a wide range of subjects improves intelligence among students, others and I believe studying specific subjects in detail has more significant benefit than intellectual growth: high school students’ career prospects increase, indirectly leading to a boost in the economy.