Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

While some individuals believe that parents are the ones who are more responsible for their children’s behaviour, others claim that children learn this lesson primarily from their teachers. This essay will discuss both opinions and argue that both are equally essential.

To start off, as many people think, children begin to learn what is correct and what is wrong firstly from their family and until they reach a certain point of maturity they get to observe and analyze how their parents behave in society. However, after going to school and starting to gain more independence their unique experiences define their characteristics. At this point, they still do carry core memories they have made with their family. Speaking of myself, personally I would claim that when i give a second thought to my opinions and actions i can clearly see patterns reflecting what i have observed in my parents.

On the contrary, other individuals argue that children of our modern society attend school after a certain age and spend on average 12 years of their early life in classes under teachers’ supervision. What is more, school is the place they intensely socialize, thus enhancing their perception of an exemplary member of society. Specifically, a child learns how to approach or talk to someone in an appropriate way among his or her classmates.

To sum up, there are several compelling reasons for both views and i believe it is not unfair to claim that arguments put forward by both sides are equally valuable.