Some people think that practical skills are more important than theoretical knowledge at school. Do you agree or disagree?"

Some people believe theoretical learning should be given less time as compared to practical learning as hands-on experience provides students with numerous benefits. I believe practical exposure to work gives students more advantages as they are able to perform academically better and gain confidence with multiple work opportunities in terms of their career prospects.

To begin with, one of the major benefits that learners acquire from learning practical skills is achieving academic excellence. This is primarily because they are practically able to perform their work, which boosts their confidence and fosters their creativity and holistic development.

If schools make it mandatory for students to complete a certain number of hours for their applied skills, it can help them develop professional competency without rote learning. Consequently, it will help them specialize in their work and be more efficient, thereby opening more future work opportunities in their designated fields. For instance, learners who have more exposure to hands-on skills, dont feel less confident and more pressurized while performing their assigned duties, instead such exposure stimulates their intellectual curiosity and they are able to apply these transferable skills across different jobs.

On the other hand, understanding the academic concepts is imperative as it is the foundation for developing actual skills. Without its understanding, students might not be able to put their theory into practice. In other words, conceptual knowledge provides a foundation upon which practical skills can be developed, as it enhances their critical thinking skills, making them aware of the steps that are to be practically performed. Although it might be arduous and time consuming for the learners to acquire extensive knowledge of a wide range of complex concepts before applying them, doing so can broaden their understanding and reduce the likelihood of mistakes at later stages. To illustrate, a medical student would need to develop an understanding of the procedure for performing a surgery before going to the operation theatre. Hence, it is obvious from the fact that without sufficent practical knowledge, tasks might not be performed successfully.

To conclude, there is no doubt that academic knowledge is imperative for the basic foundation to broden their concepts; however, I firmly believe that practical skills deserve greater emphasis as they encourage students to learn through direct experience, which in turn helps to boost their confidence and improves their professional competence.