Some people think that schools should focus more on teaching practical skills, while others believe that academic subjects are more important.

Personally, I’d say combination of both practical skills and academic subjects are great attributes for everyone to have. This essay will discuss how the both skills contribute to different aspects in your life.

On one hand, I would partially agree about practical skills are more important comparing to learning academic subjects. Practical skill isn’t just one skill, it’s a skill that you could apply everyday to make your day more efficient. Practical skills plays a crucial role and could become your best attributes that will benefit you. For example, you’re late for an appointment and you don’t know what to do. This is when practical skills comes in to play a crucial role, by having this skill you’ll know how to adapt and quickly solve your problems efficiently.

On the other hand, academic subjects provides you the knowledge that would shape your future. Academic subjects such as Mathematics, Biology, Chemistry and etc may seem to be not useful while you’re in school/university. However, you may not realize but from my experience. Academic subjects has shown me what subject I prefer and helped me choose my future career options. For example, I decided in high school I wanted to try learning academic subjects so I took an academic classes such as Additional Mathematics, Chemistry, Biology, and Physics. I realized that I’m very interested in Biology, and since then I’ve said to myself that one day I would become a doctor.

In conclusion, both skills are 2 alternate skills which plays crucial role in your life. One you would use in your everyday life. Another could contribute to your future path. It’s difficult to say one is more important than the other.