Some people think that shops should not be allowed to sell food or drinks that are scientifically proven to be bad for people's health. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

These days, there is a standpoint that all shops should not be allowed to sell products that are scientifically proven to be harmful for people’s well-being. Moreover, I strongly agree with this notion due to several factors.

One of the main reasons for restricting shops to sell unhealthy food and beverages lies in their direct impact on individuals’ diets. Products with heightened sugar, salt, and unhealthy fat intake often lead to various fatal diseases such as chronic diabetes and obesity. In the past, people prioritized quality over convenience and on account of their choice, were healthier because of their eating habits. People had a tendency to eat healthy products such as fruits, vegetables, and meat in order to reach their calorie intake. Conversely, at present, individuals tend to buy and consume highly-processed products such as meat with artificial flavors and fats. This was caused by aggressive marketing that brings huge problems linked to health. A prime example is India, people in this country suffer from type 2 diabetes because the society heavily relies on drinks and food from local markets with high in sugar. As a consequence, allowing shops to sell unhealthy products with artificial sweeteners and supplements can spoil people’s eating habits, causing health-related issues.

Moreover, the removal of unhealthy food from shops may encourage people to cultivate healthier lifestyles. The reason is that when these types of products are easily available in markets, individuals frequently place convenience higher than nutrition. This phenomenon hinders people from adopting a good lifestyle. However, if markets and shops sell only healthy alternatives to a certain product, people will be wiser in their choice of what they want to eat and able to adopt better eating habits over time. For instance, Finland, governments do not allow markets and schools to place vending machines with snacks and drinks high in sugar and salt. These harsh rules enable students to adopt balanced diets with fresh and healthy food. As a result, such policies facilitate society to stay healthier and rely on only healthy food.

In conclusion, I completely agree with this opinion because it can bring health issues such as chronic diabetes and obesity. Likewise, it may also provide opportunities to help individuals to cultivate healthier eating habits by restricting shops to sell unhealthy snacks and products.