Some people think that social networking sites have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As a matter of fact, this topic is a controversial issue. Whilst opponents hold the view that social media has a detrimental effect on communities, proponents have a diverse perspective. I am a staunch believer that Facebook and WhatsApp have become a quintessential need.

To embark on, experts claim that social networking sites have played a crucial role in globalizing the whole world. In other words, when any event was held in the East, the news broke westerners’ timelines. An eminent example is a website called Facebook, which has become the most commonly used site on the internet, and it almost displays all manner of contents. Thus, what can be said is that this globalized world has contributed to bridging the gap between both eastern and western societies.

In addition, after the advent of such web pages, firms and entrepreneurs have made full use of them by targeting their customers. To illustrate, if retailers intend to advertise their products, they mainly depend on presenting whatever they sell on websites in order to approach their clients. This can be exemplified by a recent research paper conducted by Washington University, which revealed that the number of e-advertisements has increased twice since social media has become popular. Hence, not only did companies manage to persuade individuals to purchase their items, but they also established a sort of showroom on communal platforms.

In conclusion, after this essay has manifested the points mentioned above, it can be reiterated that Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram have many advantages in almost all aspects. I am convinced that the wise and beneficial usage of social networking sites has a benign effect on societies.