Some people think that sports celebrities should only focus on their performance, while others believe their endorsement and sponsorship activities are important for society and business. Discuss both views.

It is commonly argued that sport celebrities should always engage in training while others believe that their celebrity endorsement and commercial sponsorship plays a significant role in society and business. Although commercial sponsorship can increase revenue and potentially reduce their performance level, I believe that athletes should balance both of them because such activities create opportunity for economic success and enhance their public image.

On the one hand, there are several combinations factors why commercial sponsorship can negatively affect a celebrities’ performance. Firstly, acting as a brand ambassador requires a lot of time and energy because they should go to sign an agreement and attend to promotional campaigns. For example, Cristiano Ronaldo manages several agreements with numerous brand endorsements which require careful time management to avoid distraction from training. Secondly , sport celebrities sometimes have to advertise unhealthy products such as junk food or beverage drinks which lead to damage public image and causes public controversy because most of youngsters and adults view them as a role model. Furthermore, endorsement may promote consumerism and unrealistic lifestyles.

On the other hand, sponsorship and celebrity endorsement generates income for athletes and supports their careers. If celebrities advertise famous brand to public, it causes rising enthusiasm to buy that brands among people which boost company income and its reputation as a result near a half of the revenue is given to them. Furthermore, athletes have significantly marketing influence which is closely linked to popularize sports worldwide. For instance Tiger Woods’ sponsorship have promoted golf worldwide and inspired young athletes. Moreover, sport endorsement can support charitable initiatives and social campaigns. For example, Serena Williams has used her endorsement platforms to promote gender equality and charity initiatives.

In conclusion, although brand ambassador and sport commercial sponsorship may create isolation from training it provides economic and social benefits , so celebrities should continue both of them in a balanced way.