Some people think that sports stars earn too much money, while others believe they deserve their high salaries. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is sometimes argued that sports athletes gain excessive salaries; however, others believe that they work hard for their wages. Although both views hold their own rationales, I am inclined toward the latter.

On the one hand, allocating more salaries for sports stars is not suitable when there are a majority of fields that should be prioritized. The government should assign more funds to disciplines that help upgrade people’s quality of life, such as education, infrastructure, and health care systems, instead of prioritizing sports stars’ salaries, which cannot improve living conditions. Besides, other valuable and cherished jobs, like those of teachers and doctors, also deserve high salaries. Furthermore, athletes earning too much money can lead to unrealistic and inappropriate expectations for people, especially youngsters. As young people, they are likely to daydream about a rosy, prestigious, famous, and successful future, especially those without guidance. Therefore, witnessing the excessive wages of athletes, youngsters may develop the mindset that becoming a sports star is preferable to continuing their studies.

On the other hand, athletes deserve their high salaries because of their dedication and endeavor. An athlete is forced to allocate their time for stressful and strict training, which can lead to several health and mental issues. They have to deal with difficult challenges, overcome their fears, and become professionals to enroll in world-class competitions. Furthermore, being a sports star does not allow them to frequently meet their families or relatives due to their intensive training and match schedule. Therefore, the high salaries are well-earned, or sometimes, it is unlikely to repay what they have sacrificed. Moreover, some proficient individuals who gain a reputation in national sports extremely deserve high wages and recognition from their nation’s government.

To conclude, I believe that high salaries are deserved for athletes, especially professionals, because of their efforts. However, it is much better to allocate resources for both athletes and other crucial fields and jobs.