Some people think that technology development decreases crime, while others believe it actually encourages crimes. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is widely acknowledged that technological success has been applied in almost every facet of our daily lives. Therefore, people are divided on whether these technologies will plummet the crime rate or incentivize people to commit crimes. Both viewpoints are justifiable, but I lean toward the former.

On the one hand, there are those who claim that technological advancements will assist people to commit crimes. The key rationale is that some hackers can use these state-of-the-art devices to steal personal and sensitive information. Then, they force the victims to transfer a colossal amount of money to them, and they will restore those information in return. In fact, there are many cases like that in Vietnam, resulting in many families going bankrupt. To this end, the mass should raise their awareness to protect their personal information, such as having a password that is hard to be predicted, or storing their information in a more reliable source.

On the other hand, it is understandable why some believe advances in technology may decline crime. The key rationale is that with the advent of modern tools such as cameras or CCTVs, criminal activities are easily recorded and criminals cannot deny what they have done. As a result, people will be discouraged from committing crimes, which decreases the crime rate. Another compelling reason is that these technologies help people a lot to recognize potential criminal activities, so individuals can be kept away from dire consequences they bring about. For example, with the help of detecting machines at the airport that detect knives or guns, ordinary people can enjoy their flights without being scared of being victims of a hijacking.

In conclusion, I believe that although criminals are incentivized by technological advancements, these technologies still help decline the crime rate, provided that people enhance their awareness to protect their personal information.