Some people think that technology development decreases crime, while others believe it actually encourages crimes. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

According to some, developments on technology will be handy to reduce committing crimes. There are, however, those who argue that technological developments can lead to an increase in criminal activities . Both of these views seem to be rational in their own ways, but I would personally feet that this trend may be negative as a whole.

On the one hand, it is true why some are in favor of technology deter criminal activities. The first reason could be an advanced surveillance technology such as CCTV cameras. To explain, using CCTV cameras in public spaces, residential areas and business aid to monitor and record activities. For instance, these cameras can help to discourage criminal behavior, such as theft, vandalism, and assault by providing real-time monitoring and evidence for investigations. Another advantage to do with biometric identification technologies. This not only improves the accuracy but also speed of criminal investigations by providing clear fingerprint scanning and DNA matching which can enhance public safety.

On the other hand, I would believe that advancements on technology are more likely to be disadvantages. One of the main concerns is cybercrime. This is due in large part to cybercriminals to carry out sophisticated attacks and scams. Clearly, technology is used for communication, finance, and other critical functions gives opportunity to criminals to attack. In other words, technology allows people to conceal their identity which is handy for criminals to hide their identities. What’s more, advancements in technology lead to greater accessibility and user-friendliness of tools and platforms. For example, by utilizing readily available hacking tools online, criminals can easily launch attacks even without deep technical expertise.

In conclusion, recent developments in technology like CCTV cameras and biometric identification can enhance monitoring and accuracy. However, in my view, this trend should not be seen as positive because it may lead to cybercrime and provide easy access to platforms for launching attacks.