Some people think that technology development decreases crime, while others believe it actually encourages crimes. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is a group of people who believe that technology advancement declines crime. Nevertheless, the other group say it increases the chance of committing crime among society. I strongly agree with the latter opinion.

On the one hand, some people justifiably argue that technology especially the widespread use of social media apps encourages people to commit crime because many influencers and celebrities post photos of themselves with luxury cars and houses and since individuals wish to afford them but find it difficult to purchase, they decide to steal others money. A recent study published by Mental Health Journal nearly 60% of thieves confess they were affected by social media. Moreover, an article stated that social media plays a vital role in increasing jealousy that leads in committing crime.

On the other hand, another group of people claim that technology development such as smartphones declined the crime rate their reason for this belief is that since almost everyone has an easy access to gadgets, so it creates an equality among people to take the advantage of them in the same extant. They firmly insist that they have some personal experience that shows their friends who have lower income are reluctant to steal other properties because they content with their own properties such as smartphones. However, I do not find this argument convincing as personal experience cannot be strong evidence to approve a large-scale argument. Furthermore, a statistic in 2023 revealed that it is true that technology helps in decreasing crime in some extant. However, its adverse effects especially through social media apps outweigh its advantages.

To conclude, in my view, technology is a decisive factor in boosting people’s motivation towards committing crime because people feel dissatisfied due to the posts of social media apps. Moreover, despite of its small positive effects in reducing crime, its negative effects are more substantial.