Some people think that technology development decreases crime, while others believe it actually encourages crimes. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

These days, some people consider that the improvement of technology can help to decrease crime, while others believe that it can cause crime. This essay will discuss both points of view and argue in favor of the latter.

On the one hand, technological advancements play a pivotal role in reducing crime. In other words, people spend most of their time on social media platforms. They face numerous news about criminals during the day. It can lead to promoting awareness about the negative sides of crime. Additionally, if they see criminal punishments on social networking sites, they can be less likely to commit a crime. For example, a famous Turkish influencer, Zeliha Akpinar, said that after watching a video about the life of prisoners on Instagram, she understood better the results of committing a crime and also, she shared a video on social media about this to inform her followers.

On the other hand, I agree with those who argue that the development of technology can lead to increasing crime rates. The majority of children tend to spend their day playing video games and surfing the Net. They do not have enough knowledge about crime and its consequences. They can easily be influenced by videos which are taken by ex-prisoners. If the ex-prisoners communicate with children through social media such as Facebook, they can encourage children to commit a crime. Moreover, there are some video games which are about killing people and animals can cause tendency to crime. For instance, according to news, in 2020, 4 children killed each other because of the video game, namely PUBG. There was a conflict among them about choosing the winner.

In conclusion, while some people think that the use of technology is very helpful about reducing crime, I strongly believe that it definitely cause the increase of crime rates, especially for young generations.