Some people think that technology has made our lives more complicated. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Modernization has led to major technological advancements. Today, our lives are overly dependent on technology. While it does provide its benefits, some people believe that it has made our lives more complicated. This essay discusses the benefits of technology while strongly disagreeing to the problem statement.

Firstly, the introduction of gadgets such as smart phones and other features like mobile banking has had a huge positive impact in people’s day-to-day activities. For instance, people can pay their bills without going to the bank, with the help of online bank portals. This results in substancial time savings. A recent post by the Bank of Nova Scotia on Twitter highlighted, how majority of their tasks have been digitized due to the introduction of their mobile application.

Additionally, the launch of artificial intelligence (AI), has revolutionized the corporate and service sector. With the incoming of many AI tools such as ChatGPT, people find themselves using such platforms as a guidance tool for their daily operational tasks. For example, a software developer at an organization can use AI websites or applications to get assistance to write and understand a programming language. The latest edition of The Times mentioned, that the usage of such tools has been increased by 70% from previous year, primarily by people of ages between 21 and 45, across different industries.

The trend of the technological development is on the rise and the benefits do significantly outweigh its negative impacts. Hence, it would be imprudent to say that it has made our lives complicated.