Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to get drivers tested each year. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a view that the optimal method through which roads can be made safer is to make drivers sit for a driving exam once a year. While it is sensible, I firmly believe that there are other alternatives to ensure that roads are safe, such as good infrastructure and public education on safe habits.

It is undeniable that a lack of knowledge is a major contributor to unsafe roads. To explain, when drivers do not know the rules or the meaning of symbols, they make decisions that lead to an increasing number of accidents. Therefore, making vehicle drivers go through a driving assessment seems to be the best way to improve road conditions because it ensures that drivers know basic knowledge of driving, which results in less number of car crashes and enhanced road conditions.

However, making drivers take a driving test is not enough to improve road safety. A more practical and desirable approach would be to encourage everyone to care about themselves on the roads. Rather than demanding that drivers take a test annually, for example, promoting public education on safety notes, such as not using a telephone on the roads, would be a much better way to secure safe roads.

Furthermore, there is another method to achieve a reliable roadway. To explain, it requires the government to make infrastructure better, which means driving-related signs at appropriate locations and modernized construction methods. It would improve efficiency, leading to less time wasted.

In conclusion, although compelling drivers to take a driving test may seem the most effective approach to get safe roads, I believe that teaching people to learn safety rules on the roads and developing infrastructure are better options to make roadways safe.