Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to make vehicle drivers take a test every year. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

Many specialists claim that the introduction of yearly driving exams could considerably improve traffic safety. In my opinion, this proposition only partly enhances road safety and it needs to developed in combination with other safety policies. This essay will elucidate the reasons for my stance.

The primary argument is that applying yearly driving tests is one factor in improving road safety. First and foremost, the application of driving exams every year guarantee that drivers deeply understand traffic laws and are up-to-date with road safety regulations. For instance, many European countries often modify safety rules regarding cargo transportation, which makes professional drivers required to demonstrate their knowledge regarding newly created traffic laws. Moreover, the frequency of physical, theoretical, and practical exams ensure that drivers do not forget traffic laws. Research from Canada has discovered that drivers aged over 70, who are strictly required to undergo health and written tests often, generally know more about traffic regulations than younger individuals.

Conversely, it is undeniable that increasing the frequency of tests needs to be combined with law enforcement and diversification policies to enhance road safety. To begin, it is indispensable that governments increase surveillance and punishment for imprudent behaviour on roads. A pertinent example can be drawn from China, where strict laws allow the confiscation of driving licenses for those who were caught driving while intoxicated and impose severe jail time. Consequently, the number of drivers drinking alcohol and driving reduced dramatically. Additionally, countries should seek diversification of their transportation matrix to reduce the amount of vehicles, mitigating traffic jams and colisions. For example, Brazil’s government recently recognized their overreliance on roads for transportation of cargo and passengers, and has launched an infrastructure project to build more passenger and cargo trains aiming to alleviate part of the road traffic.

In conclusion, tighetening the requirements for driving tests has a limited effect in the safety on the roads, requiring additional solutions, such as intensified law enforcement and transportation diversification. As far as I am concerned, the best way to improve road safety is through the combination of these solutions implemented simultaneously.