Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to make vehicle drivers take a test every year. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

Adequate precaution while driving has been a widespread orientation for motorists. In as much as the outreach has been on-going for several decades, we still have a lot of accidents occurring. It has been statistically proven, that 2-3 people die hourly as a result of vehicles crashes. Drivers have been mandated by the government of their respective countries to attend professional driving school and consequently obtain their driver’s license before they can legitimately make use of the road. However, this training and certifications have by no means altered the percentage of accidents that happen daily in the globe. This now begs the question, “should drivers go for a driving test yearly?”

It is a widely adopted fact, that driving requires more than just knowing how to handle the steering, breaks etc. Anyone who drives any vehicle must make sure that he or she is mentally and physically fit before holding the steering. I believe that every driver should in fact take a test yearly to further prove that he or she still has what it takes to drive on the road. And this is very important for various reasons.

Firstly, it is in human nature to forget. The basic foundational knowledge of moving and using the car should be reacquired by the motorist incase of any knowledge gap or loss. It is also a good avenue to update them on the safety do’s and don’ts.

Secondly, it redevelops a sense of consciousness by the car owners on the need to drive more carefully to as to drastically reduce the rate of casualties on the road.

In conclusion, I strongly agree that motorists should sit for a yearly driving assessment in other to make sure that they are properly assessed mentally, physically and with the adequate knowledge of protecting themselves, pedestrians and fellow drivers.