Some people think that the internet has brought people closer together while others think that people and communities are becoming more isolated. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

In this era, internet has brought several technologies. Some individuals believe that the internet is allowing people to stay connected with many individuals. While, others think that people are reducing their contacts with neighbours and societies. Although, internet is affecting individual well-being, I believe that it helps people to share information, ideas and develop relations.

On the one hand, internet is affecting many individuals’ mental and physical health by decreasing contact with societies and neighbours. Few decades ago, young children were physically active; they were going out with their friends ,playing games like cricket, hide and seek, volleyball, which were keeping them physically and mentally fit. But nowadays, from childhood people are using internet technologies such as YouTube, videogames, Netflix etc. They does not like to play outside with their friends and make new friends. As a result, this will affect their brain and they are becoming less physically active which can increase risk of severe health-related problems. For instance, recent research indicates in London, 80% people are experiencing mental illness such as depression, anxiety. Additionally, 75% individuals are suffering from other health-related issues like joint pain, blood pressure, elevated cholesterol level. This is the result of reduced physical activity and increased mental stress.

On the other hand, internet is providing many advantages. Internet is helping people to stay connected with their loved ones and making new friends by using various applications like Facebook, Whatsapp, Instagram, Snapchat. It allows people to chat with their friends, family who are staying in foreign countries. Additionally, people can share information with each other such as in the company, few years back, people need to travel for small meetings. But in recent years, internet allows people to attend virtual meetings by using zoom applications, which is saving their travelling time and cost.For example, I am living in the United Kingdom and my parents are staying in India. I can communicate with them every day by using several applications like Whatsapp, Facetime etc which is possible because of internet technology.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that internet is helping individuals in many ways, such as communication, transfer information, ideas. Conversely, it can create an impact on both mental and physical health.