Some people think that the internet has brought people closer together while others think that people and communities are becoming more isolated. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

Few people believe that the internet can lead to closer communication between people. However, other people think that individuals and society can be cut off from their relatives. Although both sides are true that the internet can have both positive and negative impact on people, I personally argue with the former view, as the internet help people keep in touch everywhere as well as offer new tools for communication.

On one hand, the internet can negatively affect people the virtue of being glued to screens. People often use the internet to communicate with their family and friends with tools like Telegram and WhatsApp, thereby reducing face- to – face interaction as well as weakening real-life relationships. Moreover, the internet can bring social isolation, as individuals are likely to reduce community engagement and depersonalize communication. For example, people often remain silent even when sitting in the same room because they are staring at their phones. Thus, the internet is not always useful, when people spend much time on the internet.

On the other hand, the internet is allowed people to connect across borders. People can communicate not only with their relatives such as family or friends but also make foreign friends, thereby fostering global connections. Furthermore, people can share their experiences with each other after enhancing communication with foreign friends on the internet. For instance, through digital tools such as Facebook, Instagram and Zoom, people can show their lives through stories as well as join gaming communities. Finally, the internet makes life easier on staying in touch everywhere and at any time.

To sum up, although the internet can cause isolation when overused, I believe that it has allowed people to stay connected across long distances and enabled faster, more efficient communication. However, a balanced approach is necessary to ensure that online interaction does not completely replace meaningful real-life connections.